Dear Jesus, Will you be my valentine?

Standard

Today in my practicum, one of the little boys asked me to help him write a letter to his valentine. When I asked who he wanted to write one to, He said Jesus. This melted my heart and made my day, but most of all, it made me think hard about my relationship with Jesus. 

“Jesus loves me this I know, for the bible tells me so.” This is a line from a children’s sunday school song I have been singing all of my life. To have that child like faith and just love Jesus with my whole heart, no stipulations or doubt, that is what I need. 

Jesus loves me even when I fail and fall short, because that is when he meets me and goes the extra space to show his love for me. There is a verse that says, “and you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.” – Mark 12:30. I need to be loving my Jesus just as much as he loves me because he was willing to be beaten and carry that cross up the mountain and be hung on that cross for me. There is no reason I shouldn’t love him, but I tend to forget when I get caught up in my day to day life. God send little reminders like a 5 year old boy asking me to write a love letter to Jesus to smack me across the head and show me that he wants love in return. 

This valentine’s day I am going to be single again and this doesn’t bother me one bit because I will have some time to spend with my one true love, Jesus. 

Hope your love life with Jesus is where it needs to be dear friends :)

About itskatymay

I'm a normal college age student, if you can define normal that is. I'm a nerd and am quite okay with that. I work and go to school and fill my time accordingly. I love my friends and try to share my time equally, though that task is quite hard. I am a lover not fighter and don't like getting into arguments even when I know I am right if that means avoiding confrontation. I love to splash in puddles and dress up like a princess, embracing the childhood I fell head over heels for. I am ambitious and want to be a teacher some day, as for now, I am the best Me I can be.

Leave a Reply

